Wellington NZ, 3 bdrm home, including self contained flat, close to shops and transport

ID #10695

Wellington, New Zealand Urban No House
6 3 2
Anywhere
Anytime
Mid-term Exchange (2-4 weeks)

Our home is spacious, light and airy. Built in 1992 and coming into our ownership in 2013, the house is the focus of our efforts to enhance and improve as finances permit. Our friend recently asked whether the house was architecturally designed because of its unique features: two bedrooms with en-suites, a large rumpus room which doubles as a third bedroom and office area, and then a self contained flat, which our daughter lives in. There is a large kitchen, a dining area (which we are using as a second sitting room) and a main living room. Our beds are comfortable and very warm.

Our cul-de-sac Street has history with the homestead two houses away from us having been owned by one of the first English settlers to the Hutt Valley. After his ownership is was taken over by the Catholic Church as a home for unwed mothers. Anyway, our house is light and airy. It suits us as three adults who live together but all need their own space. We have a small garden which we enjoy very much.

Barbecue, Computer, Dishwasher, DVD player, Garage, Garden, Internet access/Wifi, Microwave, Parking, Television, Use of bicycle, Washing machine
No Smoking
Sorry no pets
Sorry no children
Car swap by arrangement
Wellington Wellington. 30 minutes away
Yes

Petone village
Queensgate shopping centre
Wellington city - 20 minutes
Martinborough wine district - 1 hr

We live close to everything but are far enough away to enjoy privacy. A small supermarket is only 5 minutes drive away, as is a chemist, service station and takeaway shops. The residents of waiwhetu are mixed as reflected in the social housing areas and private homes. Our street reflects this too. Access to public transport is excellent and includes trains and buses. From Wellington airport there is a bus that costs a bit more than others but delivers you to the heart of Lower Hutt. From there you can taxi to our house. Bush and birds surround us with GUI and fat wood pigeons frequenting our garden. Petone and the Petone Settlers Museum are 15 minutes away by car and this suburb is a drawcard for those who like history and boutique shops.

Bush walks surround us and there is a shared pathway up Wainuiomata Hill that hubby and I enjoying hiking up. it’s a great workout. If you want to head over to the Wairarapa, then jump on a train and be there in about an hour.

The map marker is a general indicator of the local area only.
Boating/Sailing, Galleries/Museums, Golf, Historical Sites, Public Parks/Gardens, Public Transport, Restaurants, Shopping, Theatres, Walking

Shannon Golf club - Petone - 10 minutes drive
Wainuiomata Golf club - Wainuiomata - 15 minutes drive
Boulcott Farm Heritage golf club - Upper Hutt - 15 minutes drive
Lower Hutt driving range - Moera

Audrey and Alex English English 2 Yes
No 52 and 69 Public servants. Corrections and Education New Zealanders

You must be logged in and have a home listed to contact this member.

Join Now
Looking for a London exchange 2025. My husband Alex and I are new to international travel having spent our years raising our respective families and setting them up for their adult lives. At ‘50ish’ and ‘60ish’ we both still work in the public service but have a lot more flexibility in how we use our spare time, so world, here we come! We love home and it’s where we love so spend a lot of our time, either inside the house or outside including bush and hill walks. In summer we like to cycle around the neighbourhood too. The peace and quiet are good for our wellbeing as are our neighbours who keep us laughing and chatting. We are keen to travel to London and start a journey of self discovery with both of us having ancestry in the UK. Alex loves sports and is a rugby lover. I don’t love sports but I do love learning and am always looking to discover new things and change and grow as a result. We are looking forward to making new friends through exchanging.