Two bedroom home situated in Brunswick, Melbourne (inner north), Australia (edited 02/2023)

ID #5847

Brunswick, Australia Urban No House
4 2 2
Home Exchange, Mid-term Exchange (2-4 weeks), Long-term Exchange (1 month plus)

We would consider Home Exchanges anywhere in Australia, Europe, North America, Asia and anywhere else for that matter !
We have enjoyed 35+ wonderful, international and domestic exchanges, primarily using a different website.

Our home is a 2 bedroom architect designed house in the inner northern suburb of Brunswick. The house is open plan and is designed for light enjoying, north facing windows and skylights. There is a large lounge room, study/office, kitchen and comfortable dining area. The main bedroom has an en suite.
We have attractive, native low maintenance gardens at the front and rear of the house with a large outdoor deck and BBQ. There is a car port at the front of the house and free, abundant, accessible street parking. Our house has a relaxing and calming ambience, with quality solid timber crafted furniture, surrounded by the greenery of the gardens, with minimal street noise in a friendly neighbourhood.

Please note: Although small, our garden is much loved and cared for. Essentially, the garden does require tending to by the visiting Home Exchanger/s (watering, gathering leaves small branches periodically, sweeping deck and watering potted plants frequently).

Air conditioning, Balcony, Barbecue, Dishwasher, DVD player, Garden, Internet access/Wifi, Microwave, Parking, Television, Use of bicycle, Washing machine
No Smoking
Sorry no pets
Children welcome
Car swap by arrangement
Melbourne Tullamarine international and domestic airport Melbourne - 16kms

Melbourne is consistently voted as the worlds most liveable city and suburbs like Brunswick greatly add to this status. Melbourne has some great art galleries, museums and performing art venues. It is also a sport mad city - football, tennis, car racing and one of the most prestigious horse races in the world - the Melbourne Cup. Melbourne is known internationally for its restaurants and many would say the best coffee in the world. Many are located nearby in Sydney Road and Lygon St. It is Australia's most European inspired city, with grand architecture, gardens, networks of inner city lanes. We live a few minutes from immediate Sydney Road retail area which offers numerous ‘pop up’ outlets, unique /Bohemian shopping and venues featuring live music, bars and restaurants. The local Union Hotel around the corner from the house has quality meals and free bands playing each Saturday and Sunday afternoon from 5pm. There are great breakfast and lunch cafes all within walking distance.

Brunswick is a large multicultural and diverse neighbourhood, home to artists of all kinds. Brunswick is known for some of Melbournes best cafes, bars and unique shopping experiences. We are close to the International and domestic air terminals, located 5km from the CBD and have easy access to public transport - 2 tram lines and one train line. There are also bike paths for cyclists, in all four directions. Our home is surrounded by public gardens - one at the end of our street (Temple Park), plus Princes Park, Royal Park, Brickworks Gilpin Park and Melbourne Zoo, all within easy walking distance. We can hear the sounds of lions and monkeys when there is a slight breeze from the south!!
There is also a great public gym and swimming pool (Brunswick Baths) less than 1 km from us.

We are within easy access to cinemas, major art galleries and performing arts centres, the museum, sporting venues (eg MCG) and lots of Melbourne tourist attractions (eg the Botanical Gardens).

The map marker is a general indicator of the local area only.
Galleries/Museums, Golf, Historical Sites, Public Parks/Gardens, Public Transport, Restaurants, Shopping, Sightseeing, Spectator Sports, Tennis, Theatres, Walking

We live 5 minutes walking distance from the Royal Park Public Golf course (9 hole) adjacent to the Melbourne Zoo. This is one of the oldest and grandest public golf courses on Melbourne.

Ann and Terence English 2 Yes
No 67 Social Worker and Secondary Teacher Australian

You must be logged in and have a home listed to contact this member.

Join Now
We are a couple in our 60s and have moved on to our next phase of life, being retired from full time employment.  Ann worked as a Social Worker (mental health) and Terence as a Secondary Teacher (design and technology) and while we are still intensely interested in our fields, we are engaging more in our other passions.  We have been very active Home Exchanges, travellers and enjoy travelling both within Australia and all regions of our world. We very much  appreciate the unique experience and hospitality of home exchanges and the opportunities of spending time in locations one would not normally explore. Our interests are wide ranging - art galleries, music events, eating and cooking great food, learning about new cultures and societies, architecture, history, archeology, gardens.  We love meeting new people and finding out how other people live,  learn and navigate their way on our planet. We are adventurous and like to visit all types of natural environments - from deserts to the coast, mountains and rivers. We also like the challenge of being in new cities and smaller towns and rural communities, which is such an added bonus with Home Exchange.