Hygge in the Danish Lake District

ID #9716

Silkeborg, Denmark Urban No House
8 5 2
Home Exchange, Hospitality Exchange, Short-term Exchange (2-5 days), Mid-term Exchange (2-4 weeks)

Our house is a rather typical Danish house on the outskirts of Silkeborg, a small city in the heart of Jutland. It is “hyggelig” (Danish for nice and cosy), practical and has lots of space.

Downstairs is a large living/dining room full of light, a large well-equipped kitchen, a utility room, 2 double bedrooms and a bathroom.
Upstairs you'll find the master bedroom, an office with a smmal double bed, a large TV room that sleeps two, and a bathroom.
We have wifi throughout the house 2 tv sets and cable TV (mostly Scandinavian and German channels + Netflix). The upstairs TV room has Wii, lots of board-games and toys.

Outside is a nice green garden with a large wooden patio with a small bbq, a lovely little garden house to play or sleep in, an old-fashioned Swedish double swing seat, a hammock and a bonfire area where you can cook over an open fire.

Dishwasher, DVD player, Garage, Garden, Internet access/Wifi, Microwave, Parking, Television, Use of bicycle, Washing machine
No Smoking
Sorry no pets
Children welcome
Car swap by arrangement
Silkeborg BLL Billund, 1 hour, AAR Aarhus, 1,5 hours

Silkeborg is not so big, but very central - see above.
Aarhus, Denmarks 2nd city, is only 40 minutes away and is a very cool city with lots to see and do.

We live in a quiet street in a residential area about 4 km from the city centre, 3 min. walk from the woods, 10 min. walk from a supermarket. Silkeborg is situated in the middle of the Danish lake district, an area of great beauty with lots of forests. In a few minutes you can be in the middle of the forest, go for long walks, have a picnic or swim in the lakes.

Silkeborg has several interesting museums, the famous 2400 year-old Tollundman, a new art center at an old spa, a freshwater aquarium and you can go fishing, canoeing, grass skiing, swimming (indoors too) and play golf. Cruise on the lakes to look-out point Himmelbjerget, take a walk in the woods, go to Legoland (60 min), Århus (40 min with a five-star live open-air museum and Aros art museum), Hjerl Hede (60 min open-air museum), North Sea beaches (75 min), Odense (2 h, birthplace of Hans Christian Andersen ), orCopenhagen (3 h, Tivoli, the Queen's Palace, lots of shopping).

The map marker is a general indicator of the local area only.
Boating/Sailing, Fishing, Galleries/Museums, Golf, Historical Sites, Horse riding, Public Parks/Gardens, Public Transport, Restaurants, Shopping, Sightseeing, Skiing, Spectator Sports, Tennis, Theatres, Theme Parks, Walking

Annemette and Ole English German, Scandinavian 2 Yes
No 50+ Purchase manager and teacher Danish

You must be logged in and have a home listed to contact this member.

Join Now
We are Ole and Annemette and we are passionate home exchangers! We've exchanged more than 25 times during the past 15 years - mostly with our 3 children, who are now all adults. They still like to travel with us whenever possible, so for some exchanges we may be 8 adults and for some we may only be the two of us. We are old-school exchangers who prefer simultaneous exchanges and getting to know our exchange partners before a swap. Now that we have become empty nesters and have plenty of space we are also looking forward to welcoming more hospitality exchangers - come and stay with us and let´s share travel tales! (On a recent road trip in the US we stayed with 5 sets of exchangers and those stays were the best part of our trip!) We are both in our 50s - Ole is a category manager in a wind turbine company and Annemette teaches English to business people in many different companies. Apart from travelling we love books, history, quaint museums (and more ordinary ones), and cooking + we are generally very interested in the world around us. Ole would love to take you on a bicycle ride around our beautiful area (and - if you survive all the hills - let you taste his home-brewed beer afterwards). Annemette will probably be doing most of the communication with you, and will be happy to show you round the local shops and sights.