3-bedroom hilltop villa in Provence

ID #11449

Forcalquier, France Rural No Villa
6 3 2
Anywhere
Anytime
Home Exchange, Long-term Exchange (1 month plus), Mid-term Exchange (2-4 weeks)

As I am a teacher, I get 2 months' holidays in July & August so I'm open to longer exchanges.

Villa in Provence with 360 degree views of open countryside - yet only 5 minutes from charming town of Forcalquier and all local amenities (shops, restaurants, banks, doctors etc). Only 1.5 hours by car to the Mediterranean.

The house is set at the very top of a hill overlooking Forcalquier and the surrounding open countryside and the Alps in the distance. It has three good sized bedrooms, two with double beds (one has a TV with SKY channels), one with a single bed (and fold down sofa). There are two bathrooms and two separate toilets. A large chef's kitchen with eating area, a large lounge, a huge covered terrace with eating and sitting areas (and a great view). Large grounds with a pergola and a platform built in the hill.

The lounge has a large TV, DVD player and a huge digital collection of movies and music available. We also have a number of WIFI hot-spots to give a good signal throughout the house. (fibre installed).

Air conditioning, Balcony, Barbecue, Dishwasher, DVD player, Garage, Garden, Internet access/Wifi, Microwave, Parking, Television, Washing machine
No Smoking
Pet care required
Children welcome
Car swap by arrangement
Manosque Marseille
No

Very quiet semi-rural position ; yet there is a supermarket at the bottom of the hill. Forcalquier is 5 mins away by car (and a beautiful 30 mins walk down the valley and under a Roman bridge). It's a real "Goldilocks town" - not too big, not too small, not too busy, but with a definite buzz to it. It hosts the biggest market in the area on Mondays, which is a must for bargain hunters and foodies.
Forcalquier often has interesting and varied events staged throughout the year. You can find out more from the English-speaking tourist office in town.
There are restaurants to satisfy any taste: Provençal, Thai, North African, Japanese and most cater for vegetarians and vegans, from a simple 'menu du jour' to a more sophisticated dinner.

Fishing, Galleries/Museums, Golf, Historical Sites, Horse riding, Public Parks/Gardens, Restaurants, Shopping, Sightseeing, Skiing, Tennis, Theatres, Walking

There are 2 local golf courses: one in Pierrevert http://www.golfduluberon.com/ (20 minutes away) and a closer one Ribera Golf https://www.facebook.com/domaineribierahotelspagolf/ (7 minutes away)

Corinne English French & German 2 Yes
No 57 Teacher British & French

You must be logged in and have a home listed to contact this member.

Join Now
Hello My name is Corinne and I'm 57. My late husband and I started home exchanges 10 years and loved it. I now travel with my daughter during school holidays. I teach English literature in an international school in Provence. I was born in France but left for the UK at 23. I worked in IT there. We came to France 17 years ago as my husband needed a quieter life because of his health. My cat Bibi shares the house but he is very independent and only comes in via his cat flap when sustenance is needed :) I'm planning to retire in 2 years and then travel half of the year, all things being equal. I love reading, gardening and classical music. I also cooking and eating !